Skip to content ↓

Elm Wood Primary School

Our Staff & Governors



*No member of staff have a gross annual income of £100,000.

Teaching & Learning:

Mrs Catherine Barron (Headteacher)

Mrs Kim Butterworth (Assistant Headteacher)

Miss Elizabeth Learoyd (Nursery)  supported by Miss Tara Ashworth, Miss Georgia Butterworth and Miss Nansal Ashworth.

Mrs Lindsay Rodgers  (SENDCO & Class 1) supported by Mrs Christine Stewart (HLTA), Mrs Marie Maguire, Mrs Kirkman and Mrs O'Brien

Miss Faye Johnson (Class 2) supported by Mrs Christine Stewart (HLTA), Miss Vicky Jones Mrs Kirkman and Mrs O'Brien

Miss Rebecca Childs (Class 3) supported by Miss Lauen Mair, Mr Adam Berry and Mrs Kerry Hartley.

Miss Vickie Mykytiuk (Class 4) supported by Miss Lauren Mair, Mr Adam Berry and Mrs Kerry Hartley.

Miss Colleen Slater  (Class 5) supported by  Mrs Jennie Berry, Miss Michelle Hall and Mrs Maggie Gavin.

Miss Louise Taylor   (Class 6) supported by  Mrs Jennie Berry Miss Michelle Halland Mrs Maggie Gavin.

Mr Lewis Diaper (Class 7) supported by Miss Andrea Pearson, Miss Karen Taylor and Miss Angela Neilson.

Mr John Cairns (Class 8) supported by Miss Andrea Pearson, Miss Karen Taylor and Miss Angela Neilson.

Miss Abigail Currey (Class 9) supported by Mrs Debbie Butterworth, Miss Janine Graham and Miss Mandy Fitton.

Mrs Joanne Cantello (Class 10) supported by Mrs Debbie Butterworth,  Miss Janine Graham and Miss Mandy Fitton.

Miss Emma Jones (Class 11) supported by Mrs Deborah Royal and Mrs Jo Tomlinson.

Miss Lisa Bullock  (Class 12) supported by Mrs Deborah Royal and Mrs Jo Tomlinson.

Miss Sophie Edwards (Class 13) supported by Mrs Jeannie Jackson and Mrs Lynne Harris.

Miss Sarah Robinson (Class 14) supported by Mrs Jeannie Jackson and Mrs Lynne Harris.

Higher Level Teaching Assistants: Mrs Jo Tomlinson and Mrs Christine Stewart.

Learning Mentors: Mrs Diane Cantello (Families) and Miss Kate Hunter (Learning and Behaviour)

Family Support: Mrs Lacey Chorlton.

Office Staff: Miss Sarah Rawes (School Business Manager), Miss Laura Baron and Mrs Gail Foden, Miss Katie Bartle and Miss Kerry Schofield.


Our Governors: 

The main role of our Governors is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. They help  to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life. The two key documents used for this are the School Development Plan (SDP) and the Self Evaluation Statement (SES). The SDP sets out a three year strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SES sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.

Governors legal duties include:

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

Mr Chris Connorton (Chair),  Co-opted Governor from 01/09/2015

Mr Eric Barber (Vice Chair),  Co-opted Governor from 01/09/2015

Miss Louise Taylor, Staff Governor from 1/9/2018

Mrs Claire Flitcroft, Parent Governor from 01/09/2015

Mr Paul Quine, Parent Governor from 01/07/2019

Mr Gareth Price Parent Governor from 28/06/2019

Cllr June West (Rochdale Authority), Authority Governor from 07/01/2014 

Mrs Catherine Barron  (Headteacher) from 03/01/2017


Train to Teach at Elm Wood:

We are part of a collaborative school organisation called PiraMidd.

 PiraMidd ITT Partnership, is a new exciting school based route into Teaching that will begin in September 2020. Our Initial Teacher Training (ITT) programme is designed by the Department for Education (DfE) to give schools a leading role in training the next generation of teachers. The course allows trainees to immerse themselves in every aspect of the life of a busy primary school environment. Whilst the programme itself is validated by an Manchester Metropolitan University, much of the content within our course, is developed by our highly experienced leaders and teachers across our collaboration of 9 primary schools, special school and nursery school in order to produce the next cohort of outstanding classroom practitioners. We believe that we have a unique mix of partners.

Schools/settings within the Partnership
• Alkrington Primary
• Boarshaw Primary
• Elmwood Primary
• Hollin Primary
• Little Heaton CE Primary
• Middleton Parish Primary
• Newlands Special School
• Parkfield Primary
• St Gabriel’s CE Primary
• St John Thornham VA Primary
• Sunnybrow Nursery School.